Introduction


   

SCROLL DOWN

Introduction


   

 

MIT Technology Review is the first to report on important new technologies that will affect your organization, your career, your life. 

 
 
 

The Website

Beautifully designed and fully responsive, technologyreview.com delivers the most important technology news and analysis.

The Magazine

The bimonthly print magazine is the must-read publication for business leaders, innovators, early adopters, entrepreneurs, and investors.

Custom Advertising

We create unique, top-quality custom content and distribute it to users in highly engaging print, digital, and in-person experiences.

Events

Award-winning journalism comes to life in thought-provoking live and webcast events held around the world.

 

Our Audience


Our Audience


Our Audience

We serve an active, engaged, rapidly growing group of highly educated business and thought leaders, innovators, and early adopters, entrepreneurs and investors, as well as all MIT  alumni. 

Technology Decision Makers (Online)
# 1
Rank Against
Competitive Set
Technology Decision Makers (Print)
# 1
Rank Against
Competitive Set
 
Entrepreneurs
# 1

Rank Against Competitive Set

29% Online (i312)
24% Print (i259)
 
C-Suite
# 1

Rank Against Competitive Set

59% Online (i234)
62% Print (i244)
 

Source: Mendelsohn Affluent Survey 2015 of Employed Adults 18+ HHI $100K+

The Website


The Website


The Website

Our  award-winning website, technologyreview.com, serves as the home page for a global community of business leaders and innovators. We satisfy their need to know what matters in technology and how it will affect their businesses.

 

⇧110%unique visitors

Grew monthly visitors YOY:
June 2015 - June 2016.

30 millionunique users

Average yearly users:
September 2015 - September 2016.

 
 

55 millionunique page views

Average yearly users:
June 2016 - June 2017.

41%mobile traffic

Average yearly users:
September 2015 - September 2016.

 

Custom


Custom


Custom Advertising

Our expert custom team works closely with clients to create unique, high-quality media products. Our portfolio of turnkey solutions includes articles, reports, advertorials, microsites, infographics, videos, live events, and more, all with multiple options for promotional support. We deliver content to users in highly engaging digital, print, online, and in-person experiences, positioning our clients as thought leaders aligned with the authority on technology that matters. 

Our clients:

 
 

The Magazine


The Magazine


The Magazine

Our print publication has reported on technology and innovation since 1899. Our editorial team provides sophisticated, authoritative coverage that supports our overarching mission: to equip our audience with the intelligence to understand a world shaped by technology.

 

1.1Hours

Average time readers spend reading an issue of MIT Technology Review

42%of Readers

Visited an advertiser's website after reading MIT Technology Review.

 

Social


Social


Social Media

Promote your content to over 2 million MIT Technology Review followers across Facebook, Twitter, and LinkedIn. 

 

⇧42%social growth

Our audience of active & engaged social followers has grown YOY:
September 2015 - September 2016.

50+ Millionsocial ad impressions

Sponsored social impressions delivered.

 

Events


Events


Events

Our events are where technology, business, and culture converge. From our flagship global EmTech conferences to smaller custom gatherings, both in-person and video events showcase emerging technologies with the most potential to generate change. Our live events also provide access to the world’s most innovative companies and people. 

 

53% director level & above

Our events consistently attract senior-level business and technology decision makers who drive the global innovation economy.

200+ media attendees

The 2015 and 2016 events attracted journalist from ABC News, the AP, Bloomberg, CNET, Fast Company, Fortune, USA Today, the Today Show, and The Wall Street Journal

2,000+ speakers

MIT Technology Review has unparalleled access to the most brilliant minds in science and technology from all across the world.

Our Fans


Our Fans


Our Fans

     When you’re happy, we’re happy.  The following is what a few of our clients, partners, and event   attendees have to say:

We were looking for a media partner who could recommend new and interesting ideas and that had very strong writing and editorial resources coupled with a credible and respected media platform with which to reach our target audience. The MIT Technology Review Custom team was able to demonstrate that they could successfully deliver on all the above criteria. As a bonus, they were very easy and flexible to work with as elements of the project evolved and changed over the course of six months. The team worked closely and the overall project management always demonstrated a clear and concise understanding of where we were in the delivery process. The end result was a well-executed and informative series of articles, infographics, and videos used to support a global security-awareness campaign.
— Project Lead, Security Marketing, Hewlett Packard Enterprise, about a large custom-content project involving 40 separate components
Inspired by the technological breakthroughs and work being done by the Innovators under 35 and other leaders in their respective fields who were in attendance at the EmTech MIT conference.
— Manager Business Intelligence, Liberty Mutual Insurance, about our EmTech conference
The reason we like to come to EmTech is the ecosystem and environment—the other speakers, the guests—to be able to make some network connections.
— Matt Grob, CTO, Qualcomm, about our EmTech conference

Editorial Calendar


Editorial Calendar


Editorial Calendar

Subject to change

September/October 2017

Ad Close Deadline: 28-July | Materials Deadline: 1-August | On Newsstands: 29-August

Editorial Theme: Innovators Under 35

Special Edition Issue

Ad Close Deadline: 21-July | Materials Deadline: 28-July | On Newsstands: 26-September

Editorial Theme: Connectivity 

November/December 2017

Ad Close Deadline: 22-September | Materials Deadline : 2-October | On Newsstands: 31-October

Editorial Theme: Artificial Intelligence 

January/February 2018

Ad Close Deadline: 17-November | Materials Deadline: 24-November | On Newsstands: 2-January

Editorial Theme: TBD

March/April 2018

Ad Close Deadline: 19-January | Materials Due: 26-January | On Newsstands: 6-March

Editorial Theme: 10 Breakthrough Technologies 

May/June  2018

Ad Close Deadline: 16-March | Materials Deadline: 23-March | On Newsstands: 1-May

Editorial Theme: TBD

July/August 2018

Ad Close Deadline: 18-May | Materials Deadline: 25-May | On Newsstands: 3-July

Editorial Theme: 50 Smartest Companies 

 

 

 

 

 

Digital Rates and Specs


Digital Rates and Specs


Digital Rates and Specs

Standard Ad Display Option
Ad Type Dimensions Expansion Dimensions Direction File Type Accepted Initial Load Max File Size Looping
Leaderboard 728x90 728x315 Down .gif, Flash, Rich Media, HTML, third party tags 40 KB 45 KB 3 Cycles
Medium Rectangle 300x250 600x250 Left .gif, Flash, Rich Media, HTML, third party tags 40 KB 45 KB 3 Cycles
Half Page 300x600 600x600 Left .gif, Flash, Rich Media, HTML, third party tags 40 KB 45 KB 3 Cycles
Wide Skyscraper 160x600 600x600 Left .gif, Flash, Rich Media, HTML, third party tags 40 KB 45 KB 3 Cycles
Super Leaderboard 970x90 -- -- .gif, Flash, Rich Media, HTML, third party tags 40 KB 45 KB 3 Cycles
Video Pre-Roll (:15 or :30) 640x480 -- -- -- 2 GB 2 GB 1 Cycle
High Impact "Rising Stars"
Ad Type Dimensions Expansion Dimensions Direction File Type Accepted Initial Load Max File Size Looping
Filmstrip 300x600 -- -- .gif, Flash, Rich Media, HTML, third party tags 60 KB 65 KB 3 Cycles
Portrait 300x1050 580x460 Left .gif, Flash, Rich Media, HTML, third party tags 80 KB 85 KB 3 Cycles
Pushdown 970x90 970x415 Down .gif, Flash, Rich Media, HTML, third party tags 60 KB 65 KB 3 Cycles
Billboard 970x250 -- -- .gif, Flash, Rich Media, HTML, third party tags 60 KB 65 KB 3 Cycles
Mobile Platform Advertising
Ad Type Dimensions Initial Load Max File Size Looping
Adhesion 300x50 or 300x100 50 KB N/A Yes
Smartphone Wide 320x50 50 KB 200 KB Yes
Smartphone interstitial 300x250 200 KB N/A N/A

Send materials to:

MIT Technology Review
Attn: MIT Ad Ops
One Main Street, Floor 13,
Cambridge, MA 02143
WebCreative@technologyreview.com

Print Rates and Specs


Print Rates and Specs


Print Rates and Specs

Gross Rates
Page Spread 2/3 1/2 1/3 Cover 2 Spread Cover 3 Cover 4
4-Color $29,480 $58,960 $20,630 $19,160 $13,260 $70,750 $32,426 $38,325
2-Color $25,050 $50,115 $17,540 $16,285 $11,275 -- -- --

Circulation

Ad/Edit Ratio: 25/75

Estimated Audience: 487,200

Frequency: 6/year

Average Circulation: 177,436

Rate Base: 150,000

 

Guidelines

Gutter Safety: Allow 3/8 inch on each side of the gutter, 3/4 inch total gutter safety.

Safety: For safety, please keep all LIVE material not intended to trim 1/4 inch from the trim edges.

Printing Process: MIT Technology Review magazine is produced with  a computer-to-plate workflow and is printed on Web offset presses.  The preferred screen is 133 lines per inch.  Total density should not exceed 300 percent.  The magazine is perfect bound.  MIT Technology Review subscribes to SWOP (Specifications for Web Offset Publications) standards.

Preferred Materials: Digital data with matching screened digital proofs (contract proofs) are preferred for all ad submissions.  PDF/X-la files are preferred.  Postscript files accepted.  Electronic ad materials must include crop marks showing trim, and include a minimum of 1/8" bleed.  Minimum resolution for all images is 266 dpi.

FTP Transfer: Please email webcreative@technologyreview.com for FTP site and password information.  File folders should be zipped (PC files) or BinHexed (Mac files).

Send materials to:

MIT Technology Review
Attn: Webcreative
One Main Street, Floor 13,
Cambridge, MA 02143
WebCreative@technologyreview.com